Introduction

Published by

on

Hi everyone! I’m Gaby, I’m from Cancun, Mexico. I flew in late last night! (for the 3rd time) I plan to major in Psychology and possibly do a minor in early childhood education. I’m a certified Cosmetologist and focus on skincare and body treatments. So if you have any questions feel free to ask me!

Personally I love reading, I lost passion for it for a while but surprisingly ENG 110 brought it back, I read around 10 books last year, some great and some not so much.

I’m currently looking for horror books, I’ve read some but I still haven’t found any that are truly scary (Hidden pictures, Playground, Penpal, Things have gotten worse since we last spoke, etc.) the ones categorized as extreme horror are not really scary but disturbing… in a bad way.

I’m also into dystopian books, most recently I read Severance by Ling Ma, which has a lot of meaning behind it and you might relate to it considering the recent pandemic, I really recommend it!

My expectations for this course are to deepen and expanding my knowledge about literary works. I also want to learn how to critically analyze and interpret the texts. I am also interested in seeing how Romance literature can connect across cultures and transcends those cultural boundaries.

About the first lecture and conversation:

In a way the idea of Romance Studies belonging nowhere is what makes it relevant universally and able to adapt.

Instead of looking at it as betrayal, would say Romance languages are the product of resilience and the adaptability of linguistic evolution (That is just me romanticizing it). It is all about deconstructing established norms and constructing new narratives, which is what makes it so rich.

“They are not founded on the classics; they are what usurped the classics
and illegitimately took their place” (Beasley-Murray, 2024), sounds unfair but without that happening we would not have the incredible works we have now, what happened its what makes it progressive and interesting, we need to evolve, to grow, we cannot be stuck on the same things for so long.

I also like the idea that the Romance languages are distant family (familial metaphor) because it really works like that, we could potentially talk to each other and understand one another. And in a way there is this progressive bond we share from “banishing the founding father” it emphasizes evolution over the once rigid norms, it encourages different voices and narratives.

Books Reading” by Lia Leslie/ CC0 1.0

One response to “Introduction”

  1. Daniel Orizaga Doguim Avatar

    Bienvenida! I also had problems getting from Puerto Vallarta to Vancouver, it was a real odyssey due to canceled flights. But since you landed on the course, I think you can find good horror novels in some romance languages, and Spanish is no exception.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started