Colometa’s Wings – (The Time of the Doves) Merce Rodoreda

Published by

on

Entering the world of ‘The Time of the Doves’ by Merce Rodoreda was like stepping onto a rollercoaster of emotions, navigating the already difficult life of Natalia, turned upside-down due to the Spanish Civil War. This literary journey becomes a captivating search for identity, belongingness, growth, and transformation.

Natalia’s alienation

From the beginning we can see Natalia had a difficult family life, her parents constantly fighting and her bottling up her feelings. When her mom died and her dad remarried she felt like she didn’t belong. She didn’t have anything that was hers, not even at home.

“We lived without words in my house and the things I felt inside scared me because I didn’t know where they came from…” (28)

“The only thing I took from my house was the brass bed, which was the only thing that was mine” (39)

This sense of not belonging extends to her marriage to Quimet, in which she is gradually stripped of her individuality.

“If I wanted to be his wife I had to start by liking everything he liked” (22)

Even when she got pregnant, she went through some sort of existential crisis, questioning if her own body belonged to her.

“You could see I looked funny with a belly that wasn’t mine” (58)

“I’d spread my hands… and look at them to see if they were still mine and if I was still me” (60)

“I felt like they’d emptied me out of myself and filled me with something very strange” (61)

The little things she had were all taken from her

“My apartment, which used to be a heaven, had turned into hell” (101)

She was always taken advantage of, she never got a thanks in return for everything she did for that family. She never even got love from her husband, making her love wasn’t for her.

“No one cared how I felt and everyone kept asking me to do more like I was superhuman” (107)

“I wished I could spend a night like the one she’d spent so much in love… all those lovely things in life… weren’t for me” (130)

That is until Antoni…

Quimet the incel

Quimet is truly the embodiment of what an incel is. Since the very beginning I got a bad feeling about him and it didn’t take long at all to see his horrible personality. He finished stripping Natalia from any bit of identity she had left before meeting him. And his constant “Poor Maria”, it makes me speculate he knew exactly what he was doing, how he was swallowing this woman whole.

He didn’t bother to hide his manipulation and abuse, choking her, putting birdseed down her clothes, kicking her under the bed. What a godawful man. He knows exactly what to do and Natalia knew but as we know, it is really difficult to leave an abusive relationship.

When I was wishing I hadn’t told Pere everything was over between us… Quimet turned up again, cool as a cucumber” (25)

I want to quickly mention the scene when he throws his tantrum about Natalia working and after she subtly jabs at him asking if he’s calmed down. What does he do? Gaslight her into believing she met up with Pere and making her apologize, something he never did.

Actually I want to make a list of all the things he did to Natalia, feel free to comment more

  1. Stripped her of her own name
  2. Chased her down the first day they met
  3. Made her wait an hour and didn’t apologize
  4. Forcing her to like everything he liked
  5. “Poor Maria”
  6. Spied on her working
  7. Choked her
  8. Put birdseed down her blouse
  9. Pinched her arm hard enough to hurt her
  10. Didn’t help fix the apartment
  11. Gaslit her into thinking she met with Pere
  12. Made her pay for half the rent
  13. Diminished marriage
  14. Threw her on the floor, kicked her under the bed and slapped her head
  15. Called her dumb for buying hot chocolate cups
  16. Scaring her on the motorcycle
  17. Didn’t help with her nosebleed and told her she was big enough
  18. Implying it was her fault for not getting pregnant
  19. Wouldn’t care about uncovering her when he woke up
  20. “Don’t mess with the shop” “Don’t make a mess”
  21. “It’s a man’s chair”
  22. Laughed at her fear of being ripped open
  23. Made her pay for his bad mood
  24. The whole leg pain thing
  25. Forced her awake while pregnant
  26. Got annoyed she broke the bedpost while in labor
  27. Took the shed from her
  28. Made her take care of his doves
  29. Told her she was raising the kids like gypsies
  30. Got upset his family was crying and the dinner wasn’t done

Even after death he continued to torment Natalia.

Those monkey eyes and that thing that’s so hard to describe but it’s all to make you suffer (170)

Cintet and Mateu

The only good thing Quimet brought to Natalia’s life. These two friends were always fond of Natalia. They represent what true friendship and love should be. Mateu, my favorite, so in love with Griselda, who left him heartbroken. He is what Quimet could never be.

One of my favorite scenes was when he went to visit Natalia and told her she was the only person he had in the world and how Quimet didn’t know how lucky he was to have her (121). It truly shows how these men loved her more than Quimet ever did (if he did at all).

The War

The Spanish Civil War is another significant moment in Natalia’s life, intensifying her personal struggles and pushing her to the point of despair. The war’s impact is felt severely, worsening the already difficult circumstances in which she lives. The shortage of food, constant fear of bombings, and the general feelings of uncertainty and loss weigh hard on her. This period of suffering pushes Natalia to her limits, resulting in a moment of complete hopelessness in which she considers ending both her own and her children’s lives. This horrible thought shows the war’s severe psychological toll on her, emphasizing the extent of her despair and the severity of her situation.

Antoni

His evolution from a background character to a crucial figure in Natalia’s life is a symbol of hope and change. Through Antoni, the possibility of healing and renewal during devastation is shown.

He gives us a glimmer of hope when we thought everything was lost. Giving Natalia a second chance to live how she truly deserved, loved.

The touching scene after Antoni expresses to her how happy he feels with his new little family and that night Natalia sees the dovecote but this time everything was perfect, there is something so bitter-sweet about it.

A Dove is Born

Natalia’s return to her old apartment and carving “Colometa” on the door is full of meaning. Natalia is not only leaving a physical mark of her presence but also confronting and acknowledging her past self and letting go. It also signifies her survival and resilience.

She takes ownership of the name and her experiences, transforming a symbol of oppression into one of empowerment. It allows her to finally let go of all her dragging pain and allow herself to be happy with her life.

Discussion Question

This book is definitely one of my favorites so far, I finished it in one sitting! I couldn’t put it down, even now there’s so many things I can’t put into words about this book and I’d love to hear your opinions!

  • What did you think about Senyora Enriqueta? I thought it was interesting how first she said Quimet was better than Pere but later she advised Natalia to be wary of him.

  • What do you think happened with Julieta? I was surprised when she popped up again but she disappeared again!

  • Did you also hate Toni a little bit when he was a child?

#JusticeForMateu

2 responses to “Colometa’s Wings – (The Time of the Doves) Merce Rodoreda”

  1. Jon Avatar
    Jon

    I’m glad you like the book!

    And I get it that you (and you’re not alone!) are against Quimet. But Natalia isn’t, is she? What do you think of the way in which she thought about Quimet after his death?

    And I’m interested you ask in your questions about other characters… what about Rita, and *her* marriage at the end?

    Like

    1. Gaby Hdez Avatar

      Of course she had mixed feelings. There’s always going to be good moments that bury the bad if you are that manipulated…

      I loved Rita’s storyline, I didn’t include it because it was pretty much normal considering the rest of the book. It was a nice break from all the chaos and pain. Her partner, I forgot his name, is the sweetest. Man goals.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started